Marva Wisdom came to Tavistock from Jamaica in 1974 and is currently the Director for the Black Experience Project. She is the founding Chair of the Guelph Black Heritage Foundation whose aim is to renovate an historic British Methodist Episcopal Church, associated with the Underground Railroad of Southwestern Ontario.
In the early 1900’s a light dappled-grey stallion that stood about 15 hands high, named The Eel, was deemed to be the most popular pacer of his time. More than one hundred years have passed since The Eel died.
Among the many items pertaining to Mr. Fred Krug in the Tavistock Museum and Archives is an illuminated hand-lettered document presented to F. Krug Esq. by the congregation of Knox Presbyterian Church, Tavistock at his home on April 27, 1921. The following is the report printed in the Tavistock Gazette on April 28, 1921.
A project of the Tavistock & District Historical Society - Year of the Veteran - 2005. This project includes information and photos of Veterans from Tavistock & District, Ontario, Canada. The information in this project has been gathered from many people and many sources.
Obituary indexes are available online. Birth and marriage records are being indexed by volunteers and will be available when complete. The Archives also has a great number of family tree books available by visiting the Museum.
The Tavistock and District Historical Society is open Saturdays from 10 a.m. until 12 noon beginning after the Annual General Meeting the last Saturday in March. Also open 1:00 to 4:00 p.m. the third Thursday of each month. Research times available by appointment.